What job opportunities exist?

Graphic design is an umbrella term, if you will. There are endless opportunities for jobs within the sector, not all of them will stem just from graphics alone. Now, when I have my degree, there are some jobs that are directly related which I could pursue. For example, I could go into theatre production, illustration, printmaking, animation, product design, etc. the possibilities are endless as a lot of jobs in the creative field are based on a knowledge of software, it’s how you develop on them that decides your career path.

Jobs within the graphic design field include logo designers, advertisement designers, web designers, photograph editors, book sleeve designers, book layout artists, magazine layout artists, illustrators, art directors, product designers and that’s just to name a few. It’s a very broad and open field, and that’s what I like about it in particular. As long as you are of a creative mindset, you can flourish in whatever field you throw yourself into.

When it comes to jobs as a graphic designer within the industry, there is somewhat of a hierarchy. You would begin in a design company as a junior designer (or a graduate) and you would then begin to work your way up, depending on how committed you are. The next step is a middle-weight designer which means a little more responsibility and money.

Now, I did a blog post on how much you should expect to be paid depending on the design work you’re doing which I will link here. It’s useful to know, especially if you’re planning to work freelance in the future, like myself.

At the end of the day, it’s all about personal taste and where you see yourself in the future. I mean, I see myself being over the top rich, living in New Zealand and working with some of the biggest names in the industry. Will it happen? Who knows. But I want it to, so I’ll strive for it. You make your own opportunities, especially in this world, you can’t sit and wait for somebody to come to you. You’ll be waiting forever.

umbrella.jpg

Leave a Reply

