InDesign Workshop

Today we learnt all about InDesign, it’s basic settings, and how to design a book. We started with guides which are the basic foundation within a document, you use these within everything. They’re the bread and butter of graphic design.

We learnt about master pages and how they override everything. Basically, a Marxist would say that this is the ruling class page and the following pages are merely the working class, but, that’s a little too in depth for this subject matter. Along with the master pages, Neil walked through kerning, tracking, leading, alignments, and many other useful tools you should know when it comes to designing within InDesign. Master pages set up your layout and styles, you should never use them for content nor images.

A big part, which is relevant to the books, is how to set up page numbers. This in itself is a length process, but it’s something I imagine I’d use throughout my future career, so it’s something I’ll have to begin remembering like the back of my hand, although I’m not quite sure I could tell you what that looks like first time either. However, I can tell you that books are usually printed in sets of 4 however hardbacks are produced in folios of 16 which are stitched and bound together to create a larger book.

So, what comprises a book, you may be asking? Well, I’ll tell you. Firstly, you set up your document, remember to include your page size and how many pages you are designing, in my instance it will be 16. Then set up your master page; including page numbers, your layout design and any paragraph styles. Then, the rest is upto you. Design away.

Before this session I was a little wary of InDesign as my college tutor spoke harshly of it, but now I’ve come to realise that was because she was a logo designer rather than that of a magazine double page spread designer, which is something I hope to lead into during my career. After this session I realised how useful InDesign is when it comes to things such as layout design as it’s very precise, which caters to perfectionists such as myself.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

