Legibility within Typography

Readability is rather important when using typography, I mean, that is the whole point of having type. However, having block after block of text can be rather boring, unless you’re an avid reader. Manipulating typography is something  I’ve always enjoyed, but in this instance we had to still make the characters readable and distinguishable. Legibility all comes down to your choice of font, sizing and placement on a page, however, as this project was just down to looking at how one can manipulate type and still make it legible, I don’t have to worry about these things yet, but it should be on the forefront of my mind when we begin to design our books.

circles-copy
Circular pattern

I began with a circular pattern and, to be honest, this didn’t do much other than give me a 60’s era aesthetic. However, I really like the pattern within the ‘M’ and this comes down to the placement of the circular pattern. If I was to do it again, I would maybe look at the overall lettering placement ratio to pattern, this would give me a better final piece.

counterless-copy
Crosshatch

I knew that this font wouldn’t be easily manipulated. I decided to eradicate the counters which I believe helped a little, but I really do like the overall look of this type. It looks somewhat futuristic, almost like a font you’d see used on a poster for a sci-fi film. The thin crosshatch works well within the typeface I chose, this is probably my second favourite piece created during this session.

CREATE
Create

This is my least favourite piece. I had the idea of overlapping text so I used the word ‘CREATE’ vertically layered on top of the alphabet and although it has interrupted the typography, I really don’t like the final outcome. It has no real method behind it, it seems rather sporadic and that’s not who I am as a designer. Maybe it would have been better has I layered the word ‘create’ horizontally instead, but I guess trials and tribulations like this are what make you a better designer in the end.

crosshatch-copy
Crosshatch 2.0

This was a basic sans serif crosshatch design using a the good ol’ line tool. Overall, not my best. I prefered the smaller crosshatch I had previously done, but again, this is all down to personal preference.

shadow
3D

This is by far my favourite piece. I experimented with a 3D look using a dual-tone color palette, but this didn’t really achieve the look I wanted. But then after adding the white diagonal lines layering the lighter blue alphabet, I achieved my initial design idea. This is my best piece overall as I believe it was the closest to the idea I had imagined before I started creating, the colour scheme really works and the diagonal lines adds to the depth I had wanted.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

