Infographic

After eliminating my original idea, I wanted to concentrate on why I moved to Plymouth. For me, this was a pretty bold step as I moved 300 miles away from everything I’ve ever known all for further education. Saying this, Plymouth is my second home as I have already established a friendship ground here and I’ve visited the city a few times. To take inspiration I thought around why I did decide to move here and not pursue my other university choices; Leeds College of Art, Plymouth University, Falmouth and Westminster.

I began with my choice; Plymouth College of Art. I heard about the university at a UCAS event we were dragged to in Manchester. To be honest, I lot of us went just for the Christmas markets and shopping, however, on the way out of the event we got lost and I was collared by one of the university students from PCA and ironically she was also studying graphic design. After speaking for a few minutes she made the university sound like an inclusive, creative place which I’ve always tended to thrive in. So, I went to visit on the next open day and ever since the city has become my second home.

I began to brainstorm and a few words that came to mind were; MTV (I’ve been to the event two years in a row), pasties, friends, university and quids in (a recent discovery). I couldn’t really think of a way to illustrate this information, but then I had an idea; use all the words that drew me into Plymouth, into Plymouth. This was my final piece:

Screen Shot 2016-12-02 at 16.15.18.png

Overall, I kind of like the way it turned out. If I had more time I would pursue my original idea of making a self-portrait out of words, however, the time scale I had was short and it wasn’t realistic to try and create that piece in such a small amount of time. I think the different shades of blue representing that Plymouth is an ocean city worked brilliantly as Neil picked up on it during crit. The more influential words being a deeper blue also made it stand out. Again, if I had more time I would’ve manipulated the words so that the forms themselves were the outline of Plymouth, rather than filling it up. Nonetheless, the idea still worked and overall I’m happy with the outcome.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

