Typortraits

Following on from the first session with Matt where we combined two letterforms to make one, we also made type portraits using our selected font with letters from our names. This was my portrait:

screen-shot-2016-12-02-at-15-29-06

Now, if you know me, or have seen me in person, you know that I have a constant look of anguish. I’m not quite sure why, but this is my unfortunate resting expression. I’m asked daily ‘are you okay? you look as if you’re abut to cry’ and I’m not, it’s just the expression on my face. It’s the rather unfortunate gene make up. But, I think I mimicked this rather well in my typortrait. Using only letters from my first name I portrayed an uncanny resemblance piece, to which my class mates all agreed it looked like me. I’m hoping my nose isn’t that long in real life, though.

This was a fun task to round off the day with. Matt has a way of making even the direst subjects like typography seem fun and innovative. Discalimer: I enjoy typography but when you’ve been working on it for 2 and a half months none stop you get a little fed up with it and it almost seems as though there is nothing else you can adapt on, but Matt has a way of bringing the life back into it.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

