Alphabets within Grids

Influenced by Wim Crouwel’s approach to design, we began to look at grids and how we can use them to influence our alphabets, or rather how we can design an alphabet around a grid. I used squared, triangular and circular grids, but in the end I much preferred the circular grid as I had a guide for the curvature of letterforms. Here are a few examples of my squared and triangular grids, which were all a part of the trials and tribulations and helped me develop upon my final alphabet:

 

img_1293
AB
img_1294
ABCD
img_1295
ABCDEFGH
img_1296
BC
img_0994
Final Alphabet

Now, I know it’s not perfect, but for a first attempt I’m rather happy. Using the curvature of the circles I made a continuously flowing letterform. My only downfall and something I plan to revisit in my sketchbook is the letters H and X look exactly the same, one I wouldn’t use the black forms on either side. Another downfall is the N and its extra long width, I could have cut down the size by using one less semi-circle, but all of these minor details should be easily fixed if I was to revisit the alphabet within my sketchbook.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

