Interdisciplinary: Fashion Media and Marketing

After being in Paris for a week, I missed one of my three sessions. This was the session we were given the brief as well as a run through of the process we should be undertaking to research and eventually forecast trends.

Unfortunately, during the second session the tutor was unwell and could not make it. This left me with one week to project the spring/summer collection of 2018. I won’t lie, choosing fashion media and marketing when you’re one of the least fashionable people to have ever walked the earth probably wasn’t the greatest idea, but then again, I wanted to push myself, especially when fashion is involved in my future career path. However, the brief was like reading a language I don’t speak. I was lost. As luck had it, I know a girl over at Falmouth university whom studies fashion media and marketing. She walked me through what was expected and gave me some research sites to get me started. A life saver, to say the least. This really helped me get started as beforehand I had no idea what the fashion world involved nor did I know how to research it, whereas now I have a whole new aspect of what it takes to research fashion and be actively  involved, as much as I realise how interesting it is to predict the future fashion trends that are upon us. I’d highly recommend checking out her stuff as she’s very talented when it comes to fashion and graphics; an up and coming designer. Her name is Esmee Joinson-Evans, this is her LinkedIn and this is her blog.

Now, back to the brief.

The brief included three routes. The first; blurred realities, the second; conscience consumer and the third; gender neutral. This one stuck out to me as I’m not a big fan of the societal norms, especially when it comes to clothing. As a female whom has never been interested in skirts or ‘frills’, those who know me know that I’m not fashionable in the slightest. My ‘go-to’ look is skinny jeans, a jumper and nike SB’s which doesn’t specifically follow the societal norms from 50 years ago. However, I think this is rather reflective of today’s society. I mean, there are still ‘men’ and ‘women’ sections in clothing stores, but this doesn’t mean we follow them. Jayden Smith is an example of this. The youngster blurred the thin line on gendered clothes when he began wearing skirts and dresses, saying “So, you know, in five years when a kid goes to school wearing a skirt, he won’t get beat up and kids won’t get mad at him” which, I personally think, is a bold yet inspirational movement for somebody in the ‘celeb’ limelight. Finally somebody is using their limelight for something productive, rather than selling their recent love story for some fast cash.

Gender norms are, how do I say, going out the window? During the 1970’s gender norms were out and ugly, clashing colours were in. A mix of brown and yellow neutral tones were popular, but the growing punk scene saw a uproar in DIY clothes that were torn, slashed and usually black. The lack of gender stereotypes between both trends was the common link. A the time, there were idols such as David Bowie whom used Ziggy Stardust as a staple for androgyny and this seemed to inspire the world; becoming a macro trend.

However, that was just my personal opinion and research. I realise that I had three trends to research and so I did. Here is what I found:

Blurred Realities

The future is very technical, patterned and immersive. The overlap of fashion and technology will come, it’s just a matter of time. This moodpboard was a collection of colour predictions, topic words, art referencing and fashion.

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-18-21-12

Conscious Consumer

Again, a reflection of how technology and fashion will combine, but this time in an eco-friendly way. Earth tones, solar panel outfits that will charge your phone on the go and up cycled clothing are what I see in the near future.

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-18-21-04

Gender Neutral

A bigger trend that is becoming very big very fast thanks to the likes of Jayden and Willow Smith. Gender neutral clothing is about designing for measurements, rather than a male or female body shape.

screen-shot-2017-02-04-at-18-20-51

During the session

During the session with Lucesca we each discussed our personal findings and how they interested us, as well as her findings. Together we decided to tackle the Blurred realities topic and each show where we see the trend going. With Lucesca we looked at research she had gathered within the blurred realities topic and then she told us to individually branch of to create some mood boards / idea generation concepts. I decided to make 5 moodboards including patterns, colours, clothes and art. My focus was minimalism as this is a big trend in the design world currently and I’m forecasting that it will soon hit the fashion world. I chose patterns that stood out to me; they were graphic and forms that would fit both a female and male figure. I combined my patterns with the research that she had shown us to create a minimalist, gender neutral and blurred reality outcome.  Here are the slides I created on InDesign:

Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.38.16Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.38.20Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.38.26Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.38.31Screen Shot 2017-04-26 at 20.38.46

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Overall, I learnt a lot about fashion media and marketing through both Lucesca during the session I had with her and through my own research/discussions with Esmee. The world of fashion is a fast tracked place where you blink and miss a trend. It’s immersive and it’s about to take a whole new level being hybrid with the digital world.

Out of the three topics I personally took the most interest in the gender neutral trend both before and during the session, yet the blurred realities became extremely interesting to me. The mix of technology and fashion was intense yet mind boggling. How the world is forever moving forward through young designers pushing their ideas is amazing to me, and you can see a lot of this within the fashion world. Wether it’s through fashion weeks or immersive designers creating the first space couture, it’s fascinating to anybody.

From this I’ve learnt to appreciate not just fashion, but the creative world a lot more because at the end of the day, we are the ones whom are moulding society and it says a lot about us as a generation. How we are becoming more inclusive and accepting in a world that seems to be going backwards says a lot. I have a lot of respect for my creative peers and I’m going to take a lot more interest within the fashion world especially.

The one thing I will take from this discipline is the research process. FMM not only look at the fashion aspect, but they also look at other trending topics such as politics, architecture, art, society, underground, and so on. They are very current within their practice and they apply all of this knowledge to create something in which the world will respond to. I could apply this within my own discipline to not only give myself a deeper understanding of the world in which we live and develop on my knowledge, but also incorporate other structures and creative practices within my own. The more you know as a designer, the further you shall go as you have taken the time to really immerse yourself and be involved rather than being blinkered towards graphic design.

Here’s the final video of our groups final products.

Leave a Reply

