Lighting Workshop

Screen Shot 2017-04-08 at 15.15.02.png

Again, we had Dave. He gave us the second part of our photography induction, this time in the university’s cove. He walked us through all aspects of lighting, from the selection our university has to offer to the extend in which we could use it.

Being a graphic designer it’s rather important that we understand that the composition of photography is important, and lighting is a major key in that. I mean, you don’t have t be an art student to understand the importance of lighting, you just need a front facing camera and a snapchat account. But it’s even more so important in the design world.

Here’s an overview of what Dave took us through:

Copy Lighting- Copy lighting is used to photograph pieces of work. You use a pair of lights equidistant from the subject creating an exact a copy of the subject. The lights should be positioned down at 45 degree angles toward the subject because this is the ‘perfect angle’ to shoot as the light will not bounce off of your work.

Hair light- What is says on the tin. A hair light is usually placed behind your model and around 3 feet above the head. The light must be angled down and slightly forward to strike the top of the head and shoulders which enabled to camera to pick up the hair. This allows for any fly away hairs to be caught and for you to realise that hairspray along with a flat brush is always a handy tool.

Key light- The key light is the first light the photographer will require; it sets the form and dimension of the subject for the camera to pick up properly. The light can be defused or focused, depending on your requirements and preferences.

Defuser- Light defusers soften light, or enhance light it by adding a hint of colour and/or warmth.

Practical: He asked us to assemble some lights to teach us how to do it. I mean, I did study photography for two years before coming to university so I have a rough understanding of lighting, but this session was useful. However, it would have been a better use of our time had we been more interactive rather than Dave telling us how it works for the most part. Being hands on with equipment is a easier way of learning rather than just listening to how a theory in which it should work.

I found both photography inductions really helpful. Although I had previously studied it at college I believe I had built upon an already existing basic knowledge which I could apply within my future projects had I use any photography. I also really like the idea of using the cove to work within as when I begin to create an online portfolio in second year I will need some clear, well lit images of my artefacts and this workshop will have been really beneficial. As for now, I will bare all of this information in mind and I can revisit this post to refresh my memory if and when I come to use the infmoration.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

