Unconventional CV

I’ve had a lot of trouble with this CV. From failed attempts to new concepts, it’s been very stressful. I had originally planned to create a never ending folding piece of paper modelled after this video  but after trail and tribulation I realised that it just wouldn’t work. Having square piece of paper cut into two and then stuck on top of the design just wasn’t going to work as the design doesn’t account for printed versions.

Sticking with the folding paper idea, I looked into origami structures and wondered if the would work in my favour. However, I realised that I was applying for a highly regarded magazine and if I sent them a folded piece of paper they would more than likely just throw it in the bin, and that’s not what I wanted.

My final idea was a zine, but not the conventional one. Usually a zine is a non-conforming magazine, I wrote a blog post about it here. They are usually DIY and very rough, but for the sake of my career and my sanity, I decided to make a printed version. The first outcome was going to be a printed zine that folded like a traditional one; printed on an A3 piece of paper and folded in to 8 sections. It would be printed via risograph meaning it was low cost and fast printed.  I could also follow up with a zine portfolio had I had time. This was the outcome:

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.23.48.png

But, this didn’t sit right with me so after the design process I scrapped it and started again. I wanted something that was designed properly and would be seriously considered. Something that described me as a designer and portrayed me creatively.

I started a new page on InDesign, lowered my margins and created a very small grid that would allow for just the right adjustments. I sat at my computer for 12 hours straight and designed until I had a headache. This was the idea that I would take forward and complete. some would argue that it isn’t a traditional zine, or if it is a zine at all, but it’s roots stem from a zine and who am I to call it anything else? This was my new, updated, digital zine that I think reflects me as a designer and is also edited to suit the job specifications set out in the advert on Vogue’s website:

Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.08Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.15Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.52Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.27Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.34Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.47Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.26.40Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.27.02Screen Shot 2017-04-23 at 22.27.12

Overall, this 16 page zine describes me as an individual including both images and text. It’s an elongated version of my conventional CV that really allows the reader to engage and understand me on a deeper level. I’m extremely happy with how this turned out, especially with all the failed attempts previously made.

Printing:

Before university I went to the art side and bought 3 A2 sheets of glossy card stock which I cut down into individual A4 pages. I hoped that this would show the employer that I took the time, effort and consideration to apply myself and go that extra bit further in my design process. It is a subtle, yet important technique.

 

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

