Where do I want to go?

The further into my degree I get, the more I realise that I want to branch off into the fashion world. Not as a fashion designer as I’m not the best dressed, but in the sense of editorial design. Layout and structure are two things I always look at when reading a magazine, and I’ve come to realise that they are two of the fundamental approaches in my work.

Layout is the first thing I look at, and is something that always catches my eye on Instagram, billboards, magazines, apps, Pinterest, etc. and it’s something I want to focus more on and develop. I like the openness of layout and all of the potential routes one can undertake.

Structure is important to me. If I don’t have structure I tend to lose track, and that is something that routes from childhood. It’s imperative to plan out what you’re going to do and when so that you have plenty of time to go back and critically analyse your work. I found that not only does this make me a better designer in the long run, but it allows me to work ahead of time and achieve the best that I can.

Fashion is something that I never identified with as a child, probably because I was a chavvy and overweight, but that can’t be proven. But as I’ve grown older, and slimmer, it’s something that is evermore appealing to me. A lot like graphic design, each piece of clothing tells a different story and the amount of work that goes into each piece is remarkable. It truly is a craftsmanship and to be able to match that with a sleek, modern double page spread is where I see myself in the future. Who knows, maybe one day I’ll be creating DBS for the likes of Vogue and Elle? But for now I’ll focus on university and see where the opportunities here take me.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

