But, is it design? A conclusion

Overall, I feel like this has been an interesting brief, but it has been catered to self employment rather than the creative industry itself. The lectures we had catered to things like invoices and pricing structures, and although this is was interesting to learn about, I feel as though this didn’t cater to my needs.

As I’ve developed as I designer I have come to realise that I would rather go into the creative industry under an already existing company rather than being independent. I catered my cover letter and both of my CVs towards a job that I would actually be interested in rather than one I just did for the brief. This was a concept I struggled with as I debating catering it for the brief, or sticking to who I am as an individual and applying my CVs to where I want to go after my degree. I decided on the latter as I feel the brief is what YOU make it and it’s all about your journey in the work place.

My cover letter and both my CVs are aimed towards a job I would apply for after my degree; an editorial job at a high market fashion magazine. My design process was somewhat tricky because, again, I struggled with the idea of designing for the sake of being creative, or designing for an actual job application. Again, I decided the latter would suit me better and I could design for purpose rather than for the sake of it, but I was unsure if I was answering the brief in the best way?

The job I found was a daily editorial job at Vogue, somewhere I could easily find myself in the future. My CV and cover letter were easily edited to this as I needed to portray a clean, modern structure and I attained this using grids and guides. I even expanded my margins to allow for more space. However, I hit a wall when it came to the unconventional CV as my original idea of a never ending booklet didn’t work due to digital processes. I then had to scrap this idea and wonder how I could still work with the same medium, but then I realised that origami was already been created by somebody else and I wanted to be completely original.

I had the idea of a risograph printed zine as this would show my strengths in the editorial side of the job applications, and I could voice my fondness for writing within the zine. I created it using InDesign with grids and guides but after completing it I decided that it didn’t speak professionally and for a high market magazine, it wouldn’t be considered. I then developed a A5 document where I wanted to expand on my original CV and add more detail, convincing the employer why I should actually be considered and the skills I have. I searched Pinterest for editorial layouts inspirations and came up with a grid that suited me. Using both pictures and words I successfully described myself and portrayed who am I both as an individual and as a designer. This is something I would send to professional jobs in the future, maybe developed upon a little further. In addition to this, I could create a portfolio using the same grids and layouts, furthering my design work.

Overall, all of my professional mediums are printed and they have a corporate look. I think that they describe me as a designer and obtain a professional yet personal touch. If I was to receive this I would very much so consider the applicant and that is an important aspect to look at.

Published by

Betsy

First year studying Graphic Design at Plymouth College of Art.

Leave a Reply

